Sunday Snippet: Sons of Heaven

For those don’t know… I’m a published author. I have links to my books on my web blog. I’m currently working on a new novel. It’s taken me quite longer, ya know living life, collecting info, figuring out different ways to tell a story. I decided I would share bits and pieces for those that haven’t read my material. Maybe if pieces of past novels so here’s a bit from the new novel… enjoy.

“You’re my father,” Haadiyah said to my dad. It was an unexpected Christmas present and we were all shocked to say the very least. Haadiyah Musaddiq was seventeen, two years younger than me, and beautiful long black braided hair. Her eyes were stern like Dad’s
“See I told you Dad wasn’t all that innocent,” Antonio, my twin, said to me shaking his head. Dad’s face froze. I didn’t need my empathetic power to see what he was thinking or feeling. It was obvious.
“Wha-,” he clambered for words, “how?” The scene was all too familiar. My dad, Anthony Turner, unexpectedly walked back into my life after my mother passed away in a car wreck. They lived apart of years to separately raise me and my brother. They did it to protect us; from what you ask? A fallen angel has been tormenting my family for years. Now before you close this book and walk away screaming I will let you know I have written other books to explain my past so I won’t go too much into it. The reason why there has been so much supernatural occurrences in my family is because I’m not your typical college student. My mother was a half blood. Her father is this fallen angel and since my birth he has been trying to use me and Antonio for his own twisted agenda.
“Sabia… that’s my mother,” Haadiyah explained. Sabia met my dad years ago when he started writing.
“Oh my god, Sabia,” Anthony placed his hands over his mouth as if to stop what might have escaped, “She helped edit a lot of my work”
“Looks like she helped with a little more than that,” Antonio commented. Antonio and Dad always butted heads. Dad was always on his case about going to church and living right and this, in Antonio’s mind, confirmed Anthony’s hypocrisy.
“My mother was seeing someone else at the time as well,” Haadiyah added, “They ended up getting married and she continued to keep her secret. She didn’t reveal the truth to me until after he was killed last year.”
“I’m sorry,” I said relating to her pain. I was all too familiar with family secrets. It seemed that family was built on them and now, Haadiyah walked into our lives, revealing to Anthony that he was her father and propositioned me.
“Have you decided yet what you’re going to do? I don’t have all day and I have to go on with or without you, “ she demanded. I could tell she wasn’t from Texas, she had a very northern attitude and spoke very quickly not typical of southerners who spoke slower. Her dark hair was braided securely in one long tail and she was dressed in dusty jeans and a leather jacket typical of a biker. Dad had already presented his discrepancies about me joining the demon hunting ranks because he had lost my mother to supernatural beings. I wasn’t sure if he even trusted Haadiyah fully but she didn’t seem to care her focus was me. I knew he was against the whole idea and wanted me to live a so call “normal life” . But I wasn’t normal. I had angel blood flowing through my veins and because of that, I was bestowed with special abilities. I could hear the thoughts of people clear as day as well as their emotions. Sometimes it got so difficult I couldn’t discern between my own thoughts and theres. I guess you could say I sort of “melted” into people. Their memories became my own. Their angers, fears, and joys intertwined with mine at a mere touch. With my twin brother it was so powerful that a lot of my dreams were just me watching life through his eyes. The only dark side to my gifts that has scared me was that if I focused, I could almost rip a person’s soul from their very body.
All in all I was still learning how to use these “gifts”. They only started maturing when I was seventeen. But since then, every time I practiced it would attract a parasite to attack me and my family. Haadiyah paced the floor waiting for my answer.
“So you need me my abilities to find your rogue hunter.”
“Not just any hunter,” Haadiyah explained, “Valerie Larue, she was friends with your mother in college. She used to be a witch, heavy into the occult, and she knows demons. She was the one who taught me and the rest of the team that you will meet later.

Leave a Reply

